fr en

the team

Bruno Delaye, President

  • Degree in Economics, Université de Paris II/li>
  • Graduate of the Institut de Sciences Politiques de Paris/li>
  • Alumnus of the Ecole Nationale D’Administration, Léon Blum distinction, 1975/li>
  • Minister plenipotentiary with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Positions and responsibilities

  • 1973-1975: Ecole Nationale d’Administration
  • 1975-1976: Ministry of Foreign Affairs (Political Affairs Directorate)
  • 1979-1981: International Affairs – Energy and Raw Materials Advisor within the Ministry for Industry
  • 1981-1982: Diplomatic advisor to the office of the Ministry for Industry
  • 1982-1984: Advisor to the office of the Minister for Foreign Affairs, in charge of Maghreb and the Middle East
  • 1985-1987: International Affairs delegate with the Ministry for Industrial Redeployment and Foreign Trade
  • 1987 – 1990: Advisor with the French embassy in Egypt
  • 1991-1992 : French ambassador to Togo
  • 1992-1994: African Affairs advisor to the French Presidency
  • 1994-2000 : French ambassador to Mexico
  • 2000-2003: Director General of international cooperation and development with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs
  • 2003-2007 : French ambassador to Greece
  • 2007-2012 : French ambassador to Spain
  • 2012-2013 : French ambassador to Brazil
  • Since 2013: International advisor to the president of Planet Finance

Bruno Delaye



Jean-Claude Cousseran

Jean-Claude Cousseran assumed the position of Secretary General of the Académie Diplomatique Internationale in March 2007 until January 2016.

Mr. Cousseran has a distinguished career in government and foreign affairs with expertise in the Middle East, where he continues to be engaged in diplomatic efforts.

He has served as ambassador of France to Egypt, Turkey and Syria, and has held diplomatic posts in Jerusalem, Beirut, Baghdad, Tehran and New York. He has been counselor to the Prime Minister, Foreign Minister and Minister of Defense and served as director of French intelligence services.



Chantal Poiret

Chantal Poiret is a career diplomat who was French Ambassador to Azerbaijan, Norway and Latvia.

For ten years, Ms. Poiret was also involved in multilateral diplomacy, including three years at the UN in New York and three years as Deputy Director of the United Nations and International Organizations. She was Assistant Director for South Asia and worked on Russia and Eastern Europe. She was posted to Germany and Romania.

She has also held several positions as Thematic Ambassador; she was the first Ambassador in charge of coordinating the fight against maritime piracy internationally and was Ambassador for the French regions, with a brief to attract foreign investments and provide support to export growth.

Chantal Poiret



Major General Marc Foucaud

Major General Marc Foucaud left active service in late 2014 after 37 years in the military and just after commanding Operation Serval from August 2013 to August 2014 in Mali and then across the Sahel.

During this campaign, he developed close contacts with the military and political authorities throughout the sub-region.

Throughout his military career, he was assigned the responsibility of major operational commands. He also participated in numerous operations in West Africa. Consequently, his knowledge of the continent and its population is extensive.



Serge Lafont

Serge Lafont graduated from the Ecole Normale Sup (Ulm) with a PhD in physics, and from the Ecole nationale des ponts et chaussées as a civil engineer.

After working for Matra Transport in the United States from 1985 to 1988, Serge Lafont redirected his career to the public sector, from 1988 to 1995: at the Ministry of Economy as Head of Unit of the Direction des Relations Economiques Extérieures, then as technical advisor for foreign trade and international economy, at the Elysée Palace, for President François Mitterrand.

From 1995, Serge Lafont dedicated his career to international trade and the private sector, (Groupe Microfolies, INA, Millimages), and then to Areva for 10 years, (where he was Director for Southern Africa, then Director for International Development).

page de Serge Lafont



General (2S) Luc de Revel

General Luc de Revel (2s) retired from active duty in 2017, after a 37-year military career. As a Navy Officer, he served in Africa and in the Pacific, alternating between combat units and central administration. He led the French battalion in Cote d’Ivoire from 2003 to 2005, and the New Caledonian armed forces from 2013 to 2015.

He was a military advisor in Cote d’Ivoire and worked as the Sub-Saharan Africa Assistant Director for defense cooperation at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. He also worked as Defense Attaché in Ethiopia and for the African Union.

While seconded to the Ministry for Overseas Territories, he managed the Adapted Military Service, a national system for the socio-professional integration of overseas youths who are distant from the employment market.



Jean Félix-Paganon

Jean Félix-Paganon is a French diplomat with the rank of Minister Plenipotentiary. He is a graduate of the Institut d'Études Politiques (IEP) and of the National Institute of Languages and Eastern Civilizations (INALCO) in written Arabic.

He joined the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in 1979 and was the French ambassador in Kuwait (1997-1999), in South Africa (2003-2006), in Egypt (2008-2012) then in Senegal (2013-2016). Moreover, he was the UN and International Organizations director (1999-2003) and the Middle East and North Africa director (2006-2008) at the Quai d’Orsay. From June 2012 to November 2013, he was the Special Representative for the Sahel of the Foreign Affairs Minister, Laurent Fabius. From 2016 to 2017, he was country manager of Tasiast Mauritania, the Mauritanian subsidiary of Kinross Gold Corp. Mr. Félix-Paganon was appointed Chevalier de la Légion d’Honneur (the highest honorary decoration in France), and Chevalier de l’ordre national du Mérite. He speaks Arabic and English.

fr en

L'EQUIPE

Bruno Delaye, Président

  • Licence en Sciences Economiques, Paris II
  • Diplôme de l’Institut de Sciences Politiques de Paris
  • Ancien élève de l’Ecole Nationale d’Administration, promotion «Léon Blum», 1975
  • Ministre Plénipotentiaire hors classe au Ministère des Affaires étrangères

Postes et responsabilités occupés

  • 1973-1975 : Elève à l’Ecole Nationale d’Administration
  • 1975-1976 : Au Ministère des Affaires étrangères (Direction des affaires politiques)
  • 1979-1981 : Conseiller du Ministre de l’Industrie pour les affaires internationales - Energie et Matières Premières
  • 1981-1982 : Conseiller diplomatique au Cabinet du Ministre de l’Industrie
  • 1982-1984 : Conseiller au Cabinet du Ministre des Relations Extérieures, en charge du Maghreb et Moyen Orient
  • 1985-1987 : Délégué aux Affaires internationales (DAI) du Ministère du Redéploiement industriel et du Commerce extérieur
  • 1987-1990 : Conseiller à l’ambassade de France en Egypte
  • 1991-1992 : Ambassadeur de France au Togo
  • 1992-1994 : Conseiller pour les Affaires africaines à la Présidence de la République
  • 1994-2000 : Ambassadeur de France au Mexique
  • 2000-2003 : Directeur général de la coopération internationale et du développement au Ministère des Affaires étrangères
  • 2003-2007 : Ambassadeur de France en Grèce
  • 2007-2012 : Ambassadeur de France en Espagne
  • 2012- 2013 : Ambassadeur de France au Brésil
  • depuis 2013 : Conseiller international de la Présidence de Planet Finance

page de Bruno Delaye



Jean-Claude Cousseran

Jean-Claude Cousseran occupe ses fonctions de Directeur général de l’Académie Diplomatique Internationale depuis mars 2007.

M. Cousseran a été Ambassadeur de France en Egypte, en Turquie et en Syrie et Consul Général à Jérusalem.

Il a été par ailleurs Conseiller diplomatique du Premier Ministre (1992-1993), chargé de mission auprès du Ministre des Affaires étrangères et Directeur du Département ANMO au MAE. Il a également été Directeur général de la Sécurité Extérieure (DGSE, 2000-2002) au Ministère de la Défense.



Chantal Poiret

Chantal Poiret est une diplomate de carrière. Elle a été Ambassadeur de France en Azerbaïdjan, en Norvège et en Lettonie.

Madame Poiret a par ailleurs fait dix ans de diplomatie multilatérale, dont trois auprès de l’ONU à New-York et trois comme Directeur-adjoint des Nations Unies et Organisations internationales. Elle a été Sous-directeur d’Asie du Sud et a travaillé sur la Russie et l’Europe Orientale. Elle a été en poste en Allemagne et en Roumanie.

Elle a également eu plusieurs positions d’Ambassadeur thématique telle que celle de premier Ambassadeur chargé de la coordination internationale de la lutte contre la piraterie maritime et celle d’Ambassadeur pour les régions françaises avec vocation d’y attirer les investissements étrangers et d’apporter un soutien au développement des exportations.

page de Chantal Poiret



Général (2S) Marc FOUCAUD

Le général (2S) Marc FOUCAUD a quitté le service actif fin 2014 après 37 années passées au sein de l’Institution militaire, et juste après avoir commandé l’opération SERVAL d’août 2013 à août 2014 au Mali, puis dans l’ensemble du Sahel.

Il a, à cette occasion, entretenu des contacts très étroits avec les autorités militaires et politiques de l’ensemble de la sous Région.

Il lui a été confié la responsabilité d’importants commandements opérationnels tout au long de sa carrière, et il a également participé à de très nombreuses opérations en Afrique de l’Ouest plus particulièrement. Il possède de ce fait une connaissance étendue de ce continent et des hommes et des femmes qui y vivent.



Serge Lafont

Serge Lafont est diplômé de l’Ecole Normale Sup (Ulm) où il a obtenu un Doctorat en physique et est Ingénieur des Ponts et Chaussées.

Après un passage chez Matra Transport aux Etats Unis de 1985 à 1988, Serge Lafont poursuit sa carrière dans la sphère publique, de 1988 à 1995 : au Ministère de l'Economie comme chef de bureau à la Direction des Relations Economiques Extérieurs, puis comme Conseiller Technique en charge du Commerce Extérieur et de l'Economie Internationale, à l'Elysée, auprès du Président François Mitterrand.

A partir de 1995, Serge Lafont consacre sa carrière au commerce international et à l’entreprise (Groupe Microfolies, INA, Millimages) , pour poursuivre par 10 ans chez Areva (où il fut Directeur pour l’Afrique Australe, puis Directeur du Développement International).

page de Serge Lafont



Général (2S) Luc de Revel

Le général (2S) Luc de Revel a quitté le service actif en 2017 après 37 années de carrière militaire. Officier des troupes de marine, il a été en poste en Afrique et dans le Pacifique, et a alterné les postes en unité de combat et en administration centrale. Il a commandé le bataillon français en Côte d’Ivoire de 2003 à 2005, et les forces armées de Nouvelle-Calédonie de 2013 à 2015.

Ancien coopérant militaire en Côte d’Ivoire, il a été sous-directeur Afrique sub-saharienne pour la coopération de défense au ministère des affaires étrangères et a servi comme attaché de défense en Ethiopie et auprès de l’Union africaine.

Détaché au ministère des Outre-mer, il a commandé le Service militaire adapté, un dispositif national d’insertion socio-professionnelle des jeunes d’Outre-mer éloignés de l’emploi.



Jean Félix-Paganon

Jean Félix-Paganon est un diplomate français au titre de ministre plénipotentiaire hors classe. Il est diplômé de l’Institut d’études politiques et de l’Institut national des langues et civilisations orientales en arabe littéral.

Entré au Ministère des Affaires étrangères en 1979, il a notamment été Ambassadeur de France au Koweït (1997-1999), en Afrique du Sud (2003-2006) en Égypte (2008- 2012) puis au Sénégal de 2013 à 2016. Au sein du Quai d’Orsay, il a également été directeur des Nations-Unies et des Organisations internationales (1999-2003) et directeur Afrique du Nord-Moyen Orient (2006-2008). Entre juin 2012 et novembre 2013, il a été le représentant spécial du ministre des Affaires étrangères Laurent Fabius pour le Sahel. Entre 2016 et 2017, il a été country manager de Tasiast Mauritanie, la filiale mauritanienne de Kinross Gold Corp. M. Félix-Paganon est Chevalier de la Légion d’honneur et de l’ordre national du Mérite. Il parle l’arabe et l’anglais.